Langford Lodge, the main house, was built as a holiday home in the 1880’s by a wealthy Suffolk farmer who lived near Bury St Edmunds. The Far View annexe was added later.
We have been told by a relative of the original owner that it took two days for the farmer and his family to travel to Southwold by horse and carriage, stopping overnight at Peasenhall. The property is an original design. The architect was commissioned by the farmer to build one property in Southwold and another in his home village near Long Melford.
The house is pictured (top) in the Ward Lock Red Guide to Southwold and District published in 1922, which describes the Common as ‘a wide grassy plain unbounded by fence or hedge, commanding an unbroken view of the country, from the south right on through the west to the north. The Common is the playground of Southwold, where residents and visitors can indulge in nearly every open-air game. A not unusual sight is a cricket match between ladies’ and gentlemen, the former wielding the classic bat and the latter defending their stumps with the homely broom handle.‘
The second picture shows Langford Lodge and Far View in the centre of this picture, this time taken from the water tower and showing cattle grazing on The Common.
Today, the Common is still a huge open space that everyone can enjoy. Wonderful for an early morning walk, a stroll during the day, or an evening walk across the marshes to the Harbour Inn for a meal. Alternatively, just sit on one of the seats and watch the world go by. On a good day it is possible to see four churches. Visitors can enjoy watching league cricket and the occasional game of football or rugby. There is also a golf course. Take a walk to the Pit Stop Café for breakfast in the season, or just walk across the marshes, taking your binoculars to watch the birds.